Road.cc reviews the qoroz Road Won over Paris-Roubaix cobbles

10/04/12

Road.cc reviews the qoroz Road Won over Paris-Roubaix cobbles: http://road.cc/content/feature/56310-riding-paris-roubaix-pave-its-all-about-bike

qoroz Mountain Won 29er under the spotlight

08/09/11

"After achieving mediocre results in the solo category at five previous 24 hour race I was determined to make improvements in the 2011 solo race. The qoroz Mountain Won 29er that JD’s leant me was a perfect fit and felt pretty swift on my first ride particularly in the areas I least expected - on tight and twisty single-track. The start came and went and the first few laps went well. A strong start run reduced traffic on the first lap and the qoroz set about eating up the laps. The Mountain Won 29er was ideal for a long distance race like this. Aside from a long yet conformable riding position, the bike cruised up long dragging climbs with minimal fuss and the traction over wet roots was phenomenal. Crossing the line in 24:04 after 185 miles of constant riding the fatigue suddenly hit me. The fact I could hardly force down a bowl of Natalie’s tasty chilli was testament to the physical toll."

To read the entire report click: http://www.jdcycles.co.uk/news.php?articleid=9

qoroz Road Won review by John Else

09/06/11

Having over 60 years club riding and touring experience (Sorian Road Club and Chippenham Wheelers), 50 years of cycle racing endeavour/success, over 40 years as a qualified coach and having owned 32 bikes plus 6 tandems in that time, John Else put the qoroz Road Won through its paces.


"The opportunity to ride this bike brought a series of firsts for me. After riding various steel, aluminium and carbon frames over the last 60 years this was the first time I had ridden a Ti frame... The large frame was big for my 5' 10" height... There appeared to be plenty of room to fit a pair of mudguards and there are eyes for mudguard stays and a even a rack if needed... The wheels and tyres were very impressive... My first experience of the SRAM gears confirms my intention of changing to that system... The carbon flat-top bars were another first and proved even more comfortable than I had expected... The blue Chris King headset is just class... The saddle was a bit narrow but surprisingly comfortable... It was a long reach for the brakes but they operated smoothly and firmly... Back to the bike ride and I can say that it corners on tramlines... I want one."

qoroz Ti Seat Post Review

04/04/11

What Mountain Bike recently reviewed an qoroz Titanium seat post and were impressed by not only the performance but also the price point..

Read the review.

qoroz Travel Won reviewed by Andy Cook Cycling

02/02/11

We rode over 500 miles on the qoroz Travel Won (custom-made frame to suit 650mm diameter wheel) at our January training camp in Lanzarote and below is a summary of our riding experience and taking the bike with us.

Bike handling: Really comfortable and went where it was directed. Our expectation was for it to feel sluggish, but it was far from it. In fact, it was reassuringly responsive and stiff. It felt twitchy like a race bike, which was as a pleasant surprise. The 650 wheels felt good. I expected them to feel different to 700, but nothing noticed – they felt racy.

Airport check-in: Great at airport check-in as you definitely don’t raise the same level of adverse interest from fellow passengers and check-in staff - More accepted all round.

For anyone frequently travelling abroad, the qoroz Travel Won with it's SS Couplers is a fantastic buy, providing the same characteristics as your best bike that you’ve left at home. In fact, with the qoroz Travel Won, you can now take your best bike with you.

Andy Cook
Andy Cook Cycling
www.andycookcycling.com

"Titanium Mastery" - qoroz Race Won reviewed by Bike Radar

27/10/10

The qoroz Race Won recently hit the front pages of Bike Radar with an excellent, full review, scoring an impressive 4.5 out of a maximum of 5. The flagship pure-bred titanium race bike continues to make waves and impress amongst customers and industry alike. You can read the review below, or navigate to Bike Radar where you can read the review and leave your comments on the article.


The qoroz is living proof of titanium’s versatility as an all-purpose building material and is the result of a side venture by Aberlink Innovative Metrology, UK makers of co-ordinate measuring machines. Company founder Marcus Eales decided a few years back that his Litespeed might be improved upon and set about upgrading it himself.

Several years on, the range has been fleshed out while an elite squad races this very frame in Premier Calendar events, supporting a process of continuous development that feeds directly back into the design. Consider it a work in progress that’s always at the cutting-edge.

The Race Won helps you ride with the pack and then leave it behind. With a compact design and low-profile frame stance, it should appeal to any cyclist with racing and time-trialling DNA.

Ride & handling: Nice sense of balance and control that manages to both inspire confidence and reassure in the heat of battle

Initially, the low front end and compact stance combine with a steep seat angle to put you over the front wheel a bit more than expected. Old-school roadies might find this pretty radical but as more time was spent in the saddle, it became clear that the Race Won was built with one goal in mind: winning races by going faster. Severe bursts of acceleration on hills and sprints produce little flex.

Scything through the wind with a ride that’s rigid without being harsh, the bike handles irregular or worn, grainy asphalt surfaces well, with just the right amount of feedback. Superb qoroz-badged carbon deep-dish 50mm tubulars bring a considerable turn of speed. Out on the evening circuit training sessions and chaingang rides, the par-for-the course howling crosswinds increased the concentration required to follow wheels closely, but nothing that couldn’t be fixed with a shallower front rim.

Frame: Highly engineered and targeted concept executed with impeccable craftsmanship

Chainstays and seatstays are braced by substantial tubular bridges, while dropouts are stout machined titanium. Tube shapes are manipulated extensively. At the Race Won's core are a bi-axially ovalised down tube and seat tube, with large weld areas at the bottom bracket. A relaxed head angle and a bit more trail than usual create predictable behaviour, with a bit of torsional and lateral flex coming in from the straight-bladed carbon fork at higher speeds.

The qoroz is characterised by some interesting features, most notably a unique internal seatpost clamping mechanism that eliminates the risk of frame failure at the seat collar slot. The latter’s now been displaced to the seatpost itself and allows about 10cm of adjustment. There's a number plate boss under the front of the top tube, along with a chain hanger at the rear, which can prove helpful during wheel changes. Meanwhile, a welded-on front derailleur mount is an obvious solution to the heavily aero seat tube section.

Equipment: Powerful brakes, comfortable wheels and exotic qoroz finishing kit is impressive

Besides SRAM’s battle-hardened Rival group – which represents the Third Way, and is a good way to go – finishing kit on our test bike was enhanced by a beautiful welded titanium stem with an attractive set of very effective carbon aero handlebars, while the metallic blue Prologo saddle proved comfy despite its synthetic appearance. A further sprinkling of blue anodised highlights as added aesthetic enhancements really make this machine look purposeful.

It certainly turns heads cruising down the high street after a hard training session. When it comes to the wheels, we'd prefer a a shallower profile rim for the front, but that doesn’t take away from how surprisingly comfortable they are for such deep section, aero wheels.

Cycling Active Road Won review

18/05/10

Cycling Active Magazine recently published (June 2010 issue) a review of the qoroz Road Won. Our titanium road bike received more than favourable comments amongst bikes constructed of other materials on test.

Click here to read the article.

Cycling Weekly qoroz Race Won review

11/05/10

The qoroz Race Won has once more been featured by Cycling Weekly! This time a full review in which our titanium race bike scores highly in several areas. To read the review for yourself, head on over to: www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/tech/bikes/128213/1/qoroz-race-won.html

Race Won in Cycling Weekly

15/02/10

Our team issue Race Won prototype is featured in the Tech pages of last Thursday's Cycling Weekly, Feb 11. Read the fantastic write up from Simon Smythe here, and watch out for a 'First Ride' review in an upcoming issue!

Back to my routes....

14/01/10

qoroz are proud suppliers of a Mountain Won to Cervelo Test Team rider Daniel Lloyd. We were approached by David Harmon, Eurosport commentator and Daniel's agent, as he was looking for a titanium mountain bike for off-road training and ride. With his background in cross-country, Daniel was very keen on our svelte and agile bike, and his initial feedback has been glowing (see his testimonial below).


Never has a Christmas present been more appropriate than my shiny new qoroz MTB received on Christmas eve. With the plumetting temperatures we have experienced in the UK bringing with it the inevitable ice, riding off road is the safest form of training.

Of course, I couldn't wait the 24 hours to open it......

I used a couple of titanium frames during my time as a mountain bike racer, and always loved the qualities of the material on a hardtail MTB. Looking at the qoroz as I took it out of the box showed just how much things have improved in terms of build quality in the decade that I have been away from the sport. It's certainly a sleek looking machine.

First rides on an MTB are always difficult. With a new road bike, you can wait until a nice dry day to take it out, and then avoid an puddles which might give a sign that you have actually ridden the thing. On an MTB however, you know that as soon as you hit the rough stuff (especially in December!) your bike is going to look second hand pretty quickly!

My first ride was with a couple of old mountain biking friends, over the hilly Purbecks and then onto the more techincal single track trails of Wareham forest. I soon felt at home on the qoroz, it gave equal confidence on the long, fast, rocky descents as the tight and twisty singletrack. My first MTB ride in a while quickly reminded me why I fell in love with the sport in first place.

I arrived home with a good four hours done, at least 3 of which was on the trails. I even got myself back outside later in the afternoon to give it a good clean - this is a bike which deserves some TLC before being hung back up in the garage.

Get involved